Lasalle School Homabay

Brief history of the Brothers of the Christian Schools (De La Salle Brothers)

The De La Salle Brothers are a religious Congregation of men within the Catholic Church who were founded in 1679 by a French Priest and Scholar, John Baptist De La Salle.  The Brothers official name is ‘’Brothers of the Christian Schools”.  The name De La Salle comes from the founder’s family name John Baptist De La Salle.  The name De La Salle is commonly used in other parts of the world apart from USA where they are known as Christian Brothers. 

St. John Baptist De La Salle was born on 30th April 1651 in Reims, France.  He died on 7th April 1719, in Rouen, France.  He was Canonized on May 24th 1900 at Saint Peter’s Basilica in Vatican Rome, by Pope Leo XIII.  He was declared Patron Saints of all school teachers by Pope Pius XII in 1950.  This year will shall be celebrating 302 years since his deat

In Kenya, the Brothers of the Christian Schools came in the early 1960s and worked at Kamwenja Teachers college, Nyeri high School, Nyahururu high school, Subukia School and some parts of Tanzania like in Arusha.  Currently we are no longer in Tanzania but have remained in Kenya since the 70s.

Administration of the Brothers in the World

Brothers are present in 81 countries all over the world and running over 1,000 Educational institutions in different levels ranging from Early years in Kindergarten to Universities.


Central Administration

Casa Generalia in Rome.  This is where Mother house is located.

Regional Administration

RELEM: Lasallian Region of Mediterranean covers Europe and Middle East 
RELAL; Lasallian Region of Latin America covers all the countries in South and Central America
RELAN; Lasallian Region of North America which covers USA and Canada
RELAF; Lasallian Region of Africa which covers all of Africa
PARC; Lasallian Region of Pacific Asia which covers all countries in Asia and Pacific.

African Region

Africa is divided into six provinces which are called districts in lasallien Administration.

Six provinces that we generally call « Districts »:

Charles Lwanga District of Africa

Kenya is part of the English speaking Charles Lwanga District of Africa.  In Kenya Brothers are working in the following institutions:

  • St. Paul’s Secondary School in Marsabit
  • St. Mary’s Secondary School in Nyeri Town
  • St. La Salle School in Karemeno, near Nairutia still in Nyeri.
  • La Salle Catholic School in Karen, Nairobi
  • School of Education in Tangaza University, Nairobi
  • Child discovery Centre in Lanet, Nakuru
  • Mwangaza College in Nakuru Town
  • Rongai Agri-tech Secondary School in Rongai, Nakuru
  • La Salle School in Homabay (the latest mission for the Brothers)